Nine Ohio lawmakers sign no-climate change pledge


Investigative Reporting Workshop uncovers influence of the Koch Brothers’ Americans for Prosperity.

Nine members of Ohio’s Congressional delegation have signed a “No Climate Tax Pledge” under which they’ve agreed to oppose any spending to fight climate change without an equivalent amount of tax cuts.

The pledge and its signers were uncovered as part of an ongoing, two-year investigation by the Investigative Reporting Workshop, a non-profit professional newsroom based at the American University School of Communication in Washington, D.C.

Its investigation explored the wide-reaching influence of Americans for Prosperity, a libertarian organization founded by billionaire industrialists and brothers Charles and David Koch and Richard Fink, a former economics professor and executive vice president at George Mason University.

Americans for Prosperity since 2008 has been urging legislators at every level of government to sign the “No Climate Tax Pledge.”  One-quarter of the U. S. Senate and one-third of the House of Representatives have signed the pledge.

While neither of Ohio’s U.S. senators have signed on,  the following members of Ohio’s House delegation  have agreed to the pledge:  Steve Chabot  (R-1st  District),  Brad Wenstrup  (R-2nd District); Jim Jordon (R -4th District) ; Bob Latta (R-5th District),  Bill Johnson (R-6th District) Bob Gibbs (R-7th District);  John Boehner  (R-8th District); Steve Stivers  (R-15 District) and Jim Renacci (R-16th District).

At the state level,  so far, no members of the  Ohio House have signed on, but Ohio State Sen. Kris Jordon, a Republican from the 19th District, in the Delaware, Ohio area, has taken the pledge.

Here’s the full story of the no-climate change pledge and links to methods and data used by the Investigative Reporting Workshop in reporting its story.

The Koch Club: Koch millions spread influence through nonprofits, colleges
Investigtive Reporting Workshop

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *